Home > Jobs > The strangest interview

The strangest interview

Here is the strangest interview that I have ever had.  It was at a church that I had attended  previously for a couple years and I knew the pastor well.  The interview started with everyone getting some pizza and sitting around a few large tables.  There was a little chit chat and then the head of the search committee said, “Okay, let’s get started.  Jeanie, you are up first.”  From here on out, it was rapid fire questions.  No problem, I was ready to answer lots of questions.

What I wasn’t ready for was the complete lack of nonverbal communication.  I would answer a question and look around to see if people were tracking with me.  When I didn’t get any affirmation of understanding, I did what I would do with junior high and high school students, I rephrased my answer.  After a few of these type of answers. Jen starts kicking me under the table.  I give her a look wondering why she keeps kicking me.  Eventually, I get the point and stop repeating myself.  The interview ends with the head of the search committee telling me that he will be in touch with me in the next week or so.  The pastor walks us out to the car and we drive home.

When we get in the car, we look at each other and ask each other, “What in the world just happened?”  I had never before talked to a group that looked at me with stone faces like they had.  We quickly decided that this wasn’t the place for us.  I waited for the head of the committee to call me so I could tell him that we weren’t interested.

But I never got a call.  Since they had agreed to pay for our gas, so I had a good excuse to call them and find out.  So I call and leave him a message.  After almost a month after we interviewed, I finally hear from him.  He says that they are talking exclusively with another candidate.   Thanks for telling us!

An interesting part of this is that it was Jen’s former youth pastor that they were talking to.  He ended up going there and left after a short time.  I truly believe that God saved us from having to go to this church.  And it opened the door for us to go to Paris.  God is good!

Categories: Jobs Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

